Iran’s Parliament Continues Debates on Rouhani’s Proposed Ministers

Iran’s Parliament Continues Debates on Rouhani’s Proposed Ministers

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – The Iranian legislators started their second day of debates on the qualification of nominees proposed by President Hassan Rouhani for the country's new cabinet.

New President Hassan Rouhani also arrived in the parliament on Tuesday morning in a bid to defend his nominees for the new cabinet and rally lawmakers’ support for a vote of confidence.

During the first day of confirmation hearing on Monday, the Iranian parliamentarians held two separate sessions of debates on Rouhani's proposed list of cabinet.

The list of ministers and officials of Iran's new administration was proposed by the new president during his swearing-in ceremony in the parliament on August 4.

The full list of the proposed ministers is as follows:

First Vice-President: Eshaq Jahangiri
Oil Minister: Bijan Zanganeh
Interior Minister: Abdulreza Rahmani Fazli
Minister of Economic Affairs and Finance: Ali Tayyebnia
Minister of Intelligence: Seyed Mahmoud Alawi
Minister of Energy: Hamid Chitchian
Minister of Defense and Armed Forces Logistics: Hossein Dehqan
Minister of Industry, Mine, and Trade: Mohammad Reza Ne’matzadeh
Minister of Agricultural Jihad: Mahmoud Hojjati
Minister of Labor, Cooperatives, and Welfare: Ali Rabiyee
Minister of Roads and Urban Development: Abbas Akhoundi
Minister of Education: Mohammad Ali Najafi
Minister of Health, Treatment, and Medical Education: Seyed Hassan Qazizadeh Hashemi
Minister of Sports and Youth: Masoud Soltanifar
Minister of Foreign Affairs: Mohammad Javad Zarif
Minister of Justice: Mostafa Pourmohammadi
Minister of Culture and Islamic Guidance: Ali Jannati
Minister of Communication and Information Technology: Mahmoud Va’ezi
Minister of Sciences, Research, and Technology: Jafar Mili Monfared

Most Visited in Politics
Top Politics stories
Top Stories