Rouhani Views ECO as Big Opportunity for Region, Members

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – Iranian President Hassan Rouhani described the Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) as a great opportunity that could help develop regional countries and member states, and voiced Tehran’s resolve to keep supporting the regional organization.

Rouhani Views ECO as Big Opportunity for Region, Members

“ECO is a big opportunity for the regional and member countries and the organization needs certain reform measures at the beginning of the third decade of cooperation (among the member states),” President Rouhani said in the opening ceremony of the 21st ministerial meeting of the ECO in Tehran on Tuesday.

According to the president’s official website, Rouhani expressed optimism about the future of the Economic Cooperation Organization, and said ECO should undergo some reforms to provide the needs of the regional and member states.

“I hope to witness extensive regional cooperation and increased welfare and happiness for the member states in light of reforms in ECO in the near future and by taking a look at future horizons,” Rouhani added.

The Iranian president also noted that the ECO has provided a new pattern for regional cooperation.

“Over two decades of cooperation among ten ECO countries from South Asia, the Middle East, Central Asia and Caucasia has provided a new model for regional cooperation,” Rouhani explained.

He added that the ECO members have made major achievements during the period in the fields of energy, industry, agriculture, mining, environment, banking, technology and science, education and transportation.

However, the president noted, further progresses should be made in the field of regional cooperation with ECO members.

“Iran welcomes expansion of cooperation within this organization (ECO) as the best framework for the region’s cooperation, and is determined to keep up its supports,” he pointed out.

ECO is an intergovernmental regional organization established in 1985 by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey for the purpose of promoting economic, technical and cultural cooperation among the member states.

In 1992, the organization was expanded to include seven new members, namely Afghanistan, the Republic of Azerbaijan, Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Republic of Uzbekistan.

Related news
Most Visited in Politics
Top Politics stories
Top Stories