Iraqi Kurdistan Parliamentary Delegation Attends Iranian Parliament

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – A delegation from the Iraqi Kurdistan semi-autonomous Region attended the Tuesday open session of the Iranian parliament.

Iraqi Kurdistan Parliamentary Delegation Attends Iranian Parliament

Iranian Parliament’s First Vice Speaker Mohammad Hassan Aboutorabifard who chaired the session in the absence of Ali Larijani appreciated the Iraqi Kurdish MPs for their presence at the Iranian parliament.

Aboutorabifard called for improving parliamentary relations between the two sides.

The Iraqi Kurdistan Parliament (IKP), is the legislative body of Kurdistan Regional Government in the Iraqi Kurdistan.

The IKP is made up of representatives from the various parties, lists or slates that are elected once every four years to serve by the inhabitants of three provinces of Iraqi Kurdistan currently governed by the Kurdistan Regional Government.

The last legislative elections in Iraqi Kurdistan took place on September 21, 2013. It was the fourth legislative election in the region since 1992.

The IKP is a 111-member unicameral body in which 11 seats are reserved for non-Kurdish minority communities of the Iraqi Kurdistan region. The IKP holds two sessions in a year, each covering a span of four months.

Law proposals and bills are initiated via the regional council of ministries or at least by the endorsement of ten individual members of parliament in order to be voted on and eventually passed to the president of the Iraqi Kurdistan region for confirmation.

Most Visited in Society/Culture
Top Society/Culture stories
Top Stories