Persian Gulf States Reinstate Ambassadors to Qatar

TEHRAN (Tasnim) - Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and the UAE agreed to return their respective ambassadors to Qatar.

Persian Gulf States Reinstate Ambassadors to Qatar

In an unprecedented public move, the three Persian Gulf states had recalled their ambassadors in March, accusing Doha of failing to abide by an agreement not to interfere in one another's internal affairs.

The announcement to return the envoys followed a surprise meeting between representatives of the states in Saudi Arabia late on Sunday.

A statement posted on the Persian Gulf Co-operation Council's official website said the agreement aimed to "solidify the unity of the [P]GCC".

A PGCC statement on Sunday said the agreement for the ambassadors to return to Doha "promises the opening of a new page that will present a strong base, especially in light of the sensitive circumstances the region is undergoing".

It said these circumstances "require extra effort" to safeguard the Persian Gulf's security.

"Based on this, Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Bahrain have decided to return their ambassadors to Doha," it said.

The three states fell out with Qatar in part over Doha's alleged support of the Muslim Brotherhood. Qatar said it backs all Arabs, not just Brotherhood members, Al Jazeera reported.

Saudi Arabia has banned the Brotherhood, accusing it of seeking to overthrow the Persian Gulf monarchies.

On Sunday, the UAE designated the Brotherhood and about 80 other groups as "terror organisations."


Most Visited in Other Media
Top Other Media stories
Top Stories