Sepahan Wins Iran Professional League

Sepahan Wins Iran Professional League

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – Sepahan of Isfahan football team won the Iranian Professional League for the fifth time on Friday.

A 2-0 victory over Saipa in Isfahan, central Iran, secured them the IPL title for the fifth time.

Mehdi Sharifi scored twice in the 15th and 31st minutes.

“I am extremely happy and excited. I dedicate the title to Isfahan people, Sepahan players and Isfahan martyrs. Sepahan deserved to win the IPL title,” Sepahan coach Hossein Faraki, who won the title with Foolad last season, said.

Tractor Sazi of Tabriz was held to a 3-3 draw by Naft Tehran in Tabriz’s Yadegare Emam Stadium.

Naft came from 3-1 behind to equalize the match.

At the end of the 14th edition of the IPL, Sepahan finished in first place, followed by Tractor Sazi, Naft Tehran, and Zob Ahan.

Naft Masjed Soleyman and Paykan were relegated from the IPL.

Most Visited in Sports
Top Sports stories
Top Stories