Larijani Named Iran Parliament’s Interim Speaker

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – Long-serving speaker of the Iranian parliament, Ali Larijani, was elected as the new parliament’s interim speaker, maybe just for hours, until a final chair is elected for one year.

Larijani Named Iran Parliament’s Interim Speaker

In a poll at the open session of the parliament on Sunday morning, Larijani was chosen as the 10th parliament’s interim speaker by winning 173 out of 281 votes.

The other candidate, Mohammad Reza Aref, who is a renowned reformist politician in Iran, garnered only 103 votes.

The vice speakers and members of the presiding board were also elected in the session.

There are 290 seats in the parliament, known in Iran as Majlis, 8 of which are still vacant.

The parliamentary elections were held on February 26, when more than 60 percent of some 55 million eligible voters cast their ballots at around 53,000 polling stations across the country.

The run-off votes were also held in late April to fill the remaining seats.

Most Visited in Politics
Top Politics stories
Top Stories