Uruguay Awarded FINA Water Polo Development Trophy Title

TEHRAN (Tasnim) - After Malta and Iran were disqualified, Uruguay was awarded the FINA Water Polo Development Trophy title.

Uruguay Awarded FINA Water Polo Development Trophy Title

It was all about tensions which erupted towards the end of the final between Malta and Iran. Malta led 8-6, the last goal came 44 seconds from time and decided the outcome.

Eleven seconds later players started to provocation. Red cards were shown for two Maltese and five Iranian players but those who had been excluded earlier, began a mainly verbal fight outside the pool, FINA.org reported.  

While the coaches tried to order their players to refrain from making further insults on each other, the teams’ players left the pool and rushed towards the scene.

There were no punches or serious physical violence, the participants just yelled on each other amidst some pushing.

Anyway, that should not be part of any water polo games which are supposed to be decided in the pool and not out of it.

Uruguay won the title, followed by Saudi Arabia and Austria.

Santiago San Martin of Uruguay was named as Most Valuable Player of the competition.

Most Visited in Sports
Top Sports stories
Top Stories