Persepolis Claims Iran Professional League Title

Persepolis Claims Iran Professional League Title

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – Persepolis won Iran Professional League (IPL) for the third straight season after clinching a 1-0 win over Pars Jonoubi on Thursday night.

The Reds edged past Pars Jonoubi football team thanks to a Mario Budimir’s 41st minute goal at the Takhti Stadium in Jam, south of Iran.

It’s third successive title with Croatian coach Branko Ivankovic, who led Persepolis to the 2018 AFC Champions League final.  

Persepolis won the IPL title with 61 points.

Elsewhere, Sepahan defeated rock-bottom Esteghlal Khuzestan 2-0 in Isfahan and became runner-up. Kiros Stanlley gave Sepahan a lead in the 33rd minute and Ezzatollah Pourghaz made it 2-0 six minutes later.

Esteghlal also finished in third place after defeating already-relegated Sepidrood 2-1 in Tehran’s Azadi Stadium.

Mehdi Ghaedi (6th minute) and Morteza Tabrizi (22nd minute) scored for Esteghlal and Mehrdad Bayrami pulled a goal back in the injury time.

In Ahvaz, Foolad was held to a 2-2 draw by Tractor Sazi, Nassjai Mazandaran beat Paykan 2-0, Naft Masjed Soleyman drew 2-2 with Zob Ahan, Saipa lost to Sanat Naft Abadan 3-0, and Machine Sazi lost to Padideh 2-1.

Most Visited in Sports
Top Sports stories
Top Stories