IPL: Persepolis Wins Title for Fifth Time in Row

IPL: Persepolis Wins Title for Fifth Time in Row

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – Persepolis football team won the Iran Professional League (IPL) title for the fifth time in a row on Friday.

The Reds beat Paykan 2-0 thanks to goals from Mehdi Abdi and Ahmad Nourollahi in the first half in Tehran’s Shahr-e Qods Stadium.

Yahya Golmohammadi’s team won the 16-team league with 67 points.

Sepahan also defeated Esteghlal 2-1 in Tehran’s Azadi Stadium.

Reza Mirzaei opened the scoring for Sepahan in the 54th minute and Sajad Shahbazzadeh made it 2-0 in the 85th minute. Mehdi Mehdipour halved the deficit in the injury with a curling strike from a set piece.

Sepahan became runner-up with 65 points.

Matchweek 30 Results:
*Sanat Naft 2 – 1 Machine Sazi
*Aluminum 0 – 1 Naft Masjed Soleyman
*Gol Gohar 2 – 2 Nassaji
*Padideh 0 – 0 Foolad
*Esteghlal 1– 2 Sepahan
*Tractor 5 – 1 Saipa
*Paykan 0 – 2 Persepolis
*Zob Ahan 0 – 1 Mes

Most Visited in Sports
Top Sports stories
Top Stories