8 More Ministers Sworn into Sri Lanka's New Cabinet

8 More Ministers Sworn into Sri Lanka's New Cabinet

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – Eight more cabinet ministers were sworn in before Sri Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on Monday as a new government is being formed amid weeks of political instability and economic crisis.

According to the President's Media Division, the eight ministers took oaths at the President's House in Colombo and later assumed duties in their respective ministries, Xinhua reported.

Douglas Devananda was sworn in as the minister of fisheries, Keheliya Rambukwella as the minister of water supply, Mahinda Amaraweera as the minister of agriculture, wildlife and forest conservation and Ramesh Pathirana as the industries minister.

Thirteen cabinet ministers had been appointed on two previous occasions following the appointment of Ranil Wickremesinghe as the prime minister on May 12.

Sri Lanka has seen weeks of public protests due to a shortage in essential supplies including food and medicines.

Most Visited in Other Media
Top Other Media stories
Top Stories