Persian Gulf Trio Islands Eternal Part of Iran: Spokesman

Persian Gulf Trio Islands Eternal Part of Iran: Spokesman

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – The three Persian Gulf islands of Abu Musa, the Greater Tunb, and the Lesser Tunb will remain as part of Iran’s territory forever, Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Saeed Khatibzadeh said.

In a post on his Twitter account on Saturday night, Khatibzadeh said, “Even an inch of the homeland’s territory is equal to all of Iran.”

“The three islands are the eternal territory of proud Iran in the heart of the eternal Persian Gulf and they are the apple of the eye of the country,” he underlined.

“Kudos to our zealous border guards who are standing firmly for inch by inch of this precious territory,” the spokesman added, the Foreign Ministry’s website reported.

The spokesperson has also attached photos of his visit to Iran’s maritime border in the Persian Gulf in February 2021.

The islands of the Greater Tunb, the Lesser Tunb, and Abu Musa have historically been part of Iran, proof of which can be found and corroborated by countless historical, legal, and geographical documents in Iran and other parts of the world.