Rouhani to Take Oath of Office Today

News ID: 110553 Service: Politics
حسن روحانی رئیس‌جمهور

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – The Islamic Republic of Iran’s new President Hassan Rouhani will take the oath of office before the parliament in the next few hours.

The new president’s swearing-in ceremony will kick off in Iran’s parliament at 15:30 (1100 GMT).

In a separate ceremony held  on Saturday to mark the official start of the new president’s first term in office, Supreme Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyed Ali Khamenei endorsed Rouhani’s presidency.

Based on Article 110 of Iran's Constitution the President has to receive the Leader's approval.

Hassan Rouhani emerged victorious in the presidential election on June 14, which was marked by a high voter turnout.

On Wednesday, Iranian Foreign Ministry Spokesman Seyed Abbas Araqchi had told Tasnim that high-ranking officials from more than 50 countries will attend Rouhani’s swearing-in ceremony.

Meantime, dozens of senior foreign leaders and officials will attend today’s ceremony.

According to Tasnim dispatches, high-ranking foreign officials include 11 presidents, 2 prime ministers, 7 parliament speakers, 8 vice presidents, 3 deputy prime ministers, 11 foreign ministers and 12 ministers, as well as two special guests, namely former Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamed and former European Union Foreign Policy Chief Javier Solana.

Today’s ceremony will be broadcast live on Iran’s national television.


    All Stories