Persepolis Keeper Beiranvand Wins Two Accolades in 2018-19 IPL Season

TEHRAN (Taasnim) – Persepolis and Iran national football team goalkeeper Alireza Beiranvand won two awards at the 2018-19 Iran Professional League (IPL) season at a ceremony held at Espinas Palace Hotel in Tehran Saturday night.

Persepolis Keeper Beiranvand Wins Two Accolades in 2018-19 IPL Season

Persepolis won five awards to set a record for the maximum awards received. The team won the best team award and Branko Ivankovic, who currently leads Al Ahli of Saudi Arabia, was named the best coach of the year.

Beiranvand won IPL Man of the Year award and was also honored as the best goalkeeper of the season.  

As was expected, Persepolis experienced captain Seyyed Jalal Hosseini was selected as the best defender of the year.

Sepahan playmaker Mehdi Kiani was named the best midfielder of the season.

Paykan football team and Sepahan keeper Payam Niazmand won Fair Play prizes.

Brazilian forwards Kiros Stanlley and Luciano Perreiram who play for Sepahan and Foolad respectively, won IPL top-scorer awards. They scored 16 goals each last season.

Rising Start award went to ex-Esteghlal attacking midfielder Allahyar Sayyadmanesh who is a member of Turkish club Fenerbahce at the moment.

International referee Alireza Faghani was named the best referee of the year.

Iranian Deputy Minister of Sports, Mohammad Reza Davarzani, Mehdi Taj, the president of Iran's football federation (FFIRI), Iran assistant coach Vahid Hashemian and Esteghlal legend Javad Zarincheh attended the ceremony.

Related news
Most Visited in Sports
Top Sports stories
Top Stories