Iranian Lawmakers Reelect Qalibaf as Parliament Speaker

Iranian Lawmakers Reelect Qalibaf as Parliament Speaker

TEHRAN (Tasnim) – Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf was elected as the speaker of the Iranian Parliament for the third year in a row.

During an open session of the Parliament on Wednesday morning, the MPs voted to choose members of the legislature’s presiding board.

Parliament Speaker Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf remained in the post by garnering 194 votes.

Ali Nikzad and Abdolreza Mesri were also elected as the vice speakers.

The Iranian parliament currently has 290 representatives, changed from the previous 272 seats since the February 18, 2000 election. The last parliamentary polls were held in February 2019.

The lawmakers take the seats for a four-year term.

Zoroastrians and Jews each elect one representative in the parliament, Assyrian and Chaldean Christians jointly elect one representative, and Armenian Christians in the north and the south are each represented by one lawmaker.

Most Visited in Politics
Top Politics stories
Top Stories